When overlooking Ebey’s Landing National Historic Reserve in Coupeville, it is easy to spot the most iconic building in the reserve. The Ferry House. The house was built by Isaac Ebey’s family shortly after he was killed to help support Isaac’s sons. From the early 1860s to around 1900 the inn operated as a tavern, post office, grocery store, and hospitality inn for people traveling through Admiralty Inlet and to families who claimed Whidbey as their home. The National Park Service acquired it in 2000 and is committed to its preservation in partnership with Friends of Ebey.